Office of the President

Eric D. Isaacs serves as president of the Carnegie Institution for Science. Appointed by the institution's board of trustees, he serves as the chief executive officer of the institution with the general charge of its administration and supervision. Ben Barbin serves as his Chief of Staff. 

Finance and Operations

Michael Stambaugh is our Chief Investment Officer with responsibility for managing the Institution's endowment. 

Office of General Counsel

Benjamin Aderson is the General Counsel and Secretary responsible for legal matters and governance.


Ann McElwain is the Chief Development Officer managing the institution's development efforts.  


Natasha Metzler in the communications office and is responsible for periodical and special publications, news releases, social media, and digital content. To request permissions to publish Carnegie material, contact Maggie Drain.