Washington, D.C.—President of the Carnegie Institution, Richard A. Meserve, was awarded the 2013 Henry DeWolf Smyth Nuclear Statesman Award by the American Nuclear Society (ANS) and the Nuclear Energy Institute in Washington, D.C., on May 14, 2013.
Vice-president Donald Hoffman of the ANS presented the award, which recognizes “outstanding service in the development and safe management of nuclear energy science.” The award was established in 1972 in honor of Henry DeWolf Smyth, a Princeton University physicist who served on the Atomic Energy Commission from 1949-54 and was a U.S. representative to the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).
President Meserve is a former chairman of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission. He is chairman of the International Nuclear Safety Group (INSAG), which is chartered by the IAEA , and of DOE’s Nuclear Energy Advisory Committee. He served on the Blue Ribbon Commission on America’s Nuclear Future that was established by Secretary Chu at the request of the President. He is also serving as an external adviser to the Japanese Nuclear Regulatory Agency that was formed after the Fukushima Daiichi accident.


News Topic: